Griffin’s Wings

griffinscythia

So, I’ve decided to take up blogging again.  It’s been years since I’ve done so, and there are times when I am not always consistent.  When life happens, I’m off on the wing, too focused on what is occurring to think about documenting it later.  But here I am, and I will do my best to keep my writing consistent.  I wanted to start out this blog by talking a little bit about the Griffin.  I’m not going to get deep into the history, myth and symbolism, though I could very well do that in later posts.  For that, I’ll just direct you here.  This will be from the perspective of my myself and the paths I’ve taken in my life.  I will do the best to not get overly personal, as that isn’t the primary focus of this blog.

Consider now, the Griffin.  When most people think about a griffin, they think of an animal that is part lion and part eagle.  Usually, the components of this hybrid creature are clearly defined.  But it wasn’t always like that.  If you go back farther, before the ascendance of Christianity, what you end up with is a liminal creature who’s boundaries aren’t clearly defined.  Even still, we can talk a lot about what a griffin in fact is.  It is, above all else, a unity and a synthesis.  Heaven and Earth or, in parallel, Heaven and the Underworld.  Spiritual and temporal.  Male and female.  The Griffin is as ouranic as it is chthonic.  It is the symbol of the Sacred Hermaphrodite.  It is both and neither, and in between the lines is where you will find it’s true face.  It is the keeper of the secrets locked in the Vault of Heaven and etched upon the bones of the Earth in its deepest depths.

griffinfins

I have had a griffin tattoo on my left wrist for well over a decade, being the very first.  In a very visible location, its position speaks of it being a very important part of who I am.  There are many ways in which I am both and neither, a synthesis that stands all on it’s own.  It’s own creature.  I will not be boxed.  The griffin is a creature that will not stay long in an area where it cannot wholly spread its wings, or stretch its legs.  Despite what the fantasy novels may tell you, no chain has ever been forged that could contain a griffin.  To constrain it within one realm, Above OR Below is to cut off its true nature.  Then it becomes a beast of neithers, which is not who I am.  Far from being a contradiction, or some clumsy chimera, it is it’s own beast, who unlike other beasts masters dualities, and moves beyond them.

 

 

This entry was posted in Gender, Occult and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

